I think when I’m the most sad, lost, or hurt is when I find my drive to write.

I lay in bed and think about the emotions I’m feeling and the urge hits. The problem is, I don’t have the words.

This morning I read a devotional about when you’ve prayed so much your words fail. Chrystal Evans Hurst said that she prayed and cried and prayed. She said even when her words stopped flowing, her tears and prayers never ceased.

This was so powerful. I don’t know about you, but I have been so emotionally spent at times, that when I pray I lose my words and just cry. Hurst reminded me that even when I don’t have words, God still knows my heart. Surrender your heart, let Him know those emotions and fears through surrendering your heart.

This may mean something different for everyone, but for me, when I am so emotionally spent, I sink to my knees, bow my head, and surrender. The lower I am to the ground the higher my God is. I feel that if I place myself as low as possible, my surrender to him is greater. I know this is just something that sounds crazy, but to me, it’s comforting.

This entire year has been so uncertain. Isolation from family, friends, daily activities. We’ve all given up so much, some more than others. During this time of uncertainty, remember that nothing is more steadfast than our Father’s love. Surrender the fear, the sadness, the grief – embrace the love, calmness, and peace that God provides.

Leave a comment